HomeNewsArticle Display

September 2016 Spotlight Airman

SSgt. Patricia Dates poses at her desk in the finance unit Sept. 1, 2016 at Warfield Air National Guard Base, Middle River, Md. Dates is the Maryland Air National Guard September Spotlight Airman. (U.S. Air National Guard photo by Airman 1st Class Enjoli Saunders/RELEASED)

SSgt. Patricia Dates poses at her desk in the finance unit Sept. 1, 2016 at Warfield Air National Guard Base, Middle River, Md. Dates is the Maryland Air National Guard September Spotlight Airman. (U.S. Air National Guard photo by Airman 1st Class Enjoli Saunders/RELEASED)

SSgt. Patricia Dates assists a young airmen with a financial question Sep. 1, 2016 at Warfield Air National Guard Base, Middle River, Md. Dates is the Maryland Air National Guard September Spotlight Airman. (U.S. Air National Guard photo by Airman 1st Class Enjoli Saunders/RELEASED)

SSgt. Patricia Dates assists a young airmen with a financial question Sep. 1, 2016 at Warfield Air National Guard Base, Middle River, Md. Dates is the Maryland Air National Guard September Spotlight Airman. (U.S. Air National Guard photo by Airman 1st Class Enjoli Saunders/RELEASED)

SSgt. Patricia Dates provides financial assistance to members of the 175th Wing on a daily basis Sep. 1, 2016 at Warfield Air National Guard Base, Middle River, Md. Dates is the Maryland Air National Guard September Spotlight Airman. (U.S. Air National Guard photo by Airman 1st Class Enjoli Saunders/RELEASED)

SSgt. Patricia Dates provides financial assistance to members of the 175th Wing on a daily basis Sep. 1, 2016 at Warfield Air National Guard Base, Middle River, Md. Dates is the Maryland Air National Guard September Spotlight Airman. (U.S. Air National Guard photo by Airman 1st Class Enjoli Saunders/RELEASED)

Baltimore --

Name: Patricia Dates
Rank: SSgt.
Unit: 175th Comptroller Flight
Job Description: Financial Management Technician
Fulltime job: Accounting Technician
Hometown: Pennsylvania
Joined the MDANG: October 2010
Total Service years: 7.5 years
Family: 1 son, 1 daughter, 2 granddaughters, 1 grandson, 12 siblings
Favorite Movie: No Country for Old Men, The Shawshank Redemption, The Three Burials of Melquiades
Favorite Food: Dark Chocolate and Moscato
Favorite Sports Team: STEELERS!!!!

Tell us your brief life story?

I was born in Chester, Pa. but mainly grew up in Baltimore, Md. I am the oldest daughter of 12 siblings. My mom was a nurse and my dad is a factory worker. I attended Dunbar High School. I currently hold an Associate in Science for Massage Therapy and Physical Fitness. Presently, I am working toward a Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice. After my military career, I look forward to pursuing a career in Forensic Science.

Tell us about your military career? 

I honestly joined the military to escape from my regular nine to five job as a bursar at the Florida College of Natural Health. I began my military career with the Army Reserves in April 2009 as a Cargo Specialist for transportation. I switched to the Maryland Air National Guard in Oct 2010 and worked in finance. I enjoyed working outside with the Army but I have been managing money all of my life, so finance was a great fit. I enjoy what I do and plan on making a career out of it.

What brought you to the MDANG? How have you enjoyed your time here?

Family brought me to MDANG. My aunt MSgt. Jamesetta Howard recommended I join and thought I would be a great asset to the finance community. I relocated from Florida to Pennsylvania where I currently reside. Throughout my years at the 175th Wing, I have been introduced to some very unique individuals. The wing has become an extended family and I am proud to serve with the men and women here.

What is your favorite Air Force or military memory or story?

My favorite moment was during my first physical fitness test, I outshined 18-20 year olds at age 33. It was good to know at that age, I had what it took to serve my country.

What is your proudest moment?

Raising my right hand.

What are you passionate about?

Happiness. Making people smile. Through finance, I am able to assist members that provide for their families.