HomeNewsArticle Display

175th Wing Airman Spotlight

Senior Airman Miriam Y. Jarvis, 175th Security Forces Squadron, stands by a vehicle belonging to the 175th Security Forces Squadron.  Senior Airman Jarvis has been in the Maryland Air National Guard for five years as a member of the Security Forces Squadron.  (Air National Guard photo by Senior Master Sgt. Edward Bard/RELEASED)

Senior Airman Miriam Y. Jarvis, 175th Security Forces Squadron, stands by a vehicle belonging to the 175th Security Forces Squadron. Senior Airman Jarvis has been in the Maryland Air National Guard for five years as a member of the Security Forces Squadron. (Air National Guard photo by Senior Master Sgt. Edward Bard/RELEASED)

Senior Airman Miriam Jarvis, 175th Security Forces Squadron, stands at the front gate of Warfield Air National Guard base, Baltimore, Md. on February 4, 2014.  Senior Airman Jarvis has been working with the 175th Security Forces Squadron since August 13, 2008.  (Air National Guard photo by Senior Master Sgt. Edward Bard/RELEASED)

Senior Airman Miriam Jarvis, 175th Security Forces Squadron, stands at the front gate of Warfield Air National Guard base, Baltimore, Md. on February 4, 2014. Senior Airman Jarvis has been working with the 175th Security Forces Squadron since August 13, 2008. (Air National Guard photo by Senior Master Sgt. Edward Bard/RELEASED)

U.S. Army Maj. Gen. James Adkins, the Adjutant General for the Maryland National Guard, speaks with Senior Airman Miriam Jarvis, 175th Security Forces Squadron, during his inspection of the 175th Wing facilities.  The inspection took place January 31, 2014 at Warfield Air National Guard base, Baltimore, Md. (Air National Guard photo by Tech. Sgt. Chris Schepers/RELEASED)

U.S. Army Maj. Gen. James Adkins, the Adjutant General for the Maryland National Guard, speaks with Senior Airman Miriam Jarvis, 175th Security Forces Squadron, during his inspection of the 175th Wing facilities. The inspection took place January 31, 2014 at Warfield Air National Guard base, Baltimore, Md. (Air National Guard photo by Tech. Sgt. Chris Schepers/RELEASED)

Baltimore -- The 175th Wing would like to present Senior Airman Miriam Jarvis, 175th Security Forces Squadron, as this month's Spotlight Airman. Senior Airman Jarvis has been with the Security Forces Squadron for five years and works full time with the Maryland Air National Guard in the same position.

Here is some more information about Senior Airman Jarvis:

Hometown: Dundalk, Md.
Year joined the MDANG: 13 Aug 2008
Total service years: 5
Family: 3 brothers and 1 daughter
Favorite Movie: Dirty Dancing/Grease
Last book read: Hilarity Ensues by Tucker Max
Favorite Food: Pizza
Favorite Sports Team: Ravens/Orioles

Background:
I was born and raised in Dundalk, Md. I was brought up by my mother and youngest brother. My father lives in Arizona with my two oldest brothers. They didn't have a major role in my life until recently when my brothers and I connected on social media. Throughout my childhood I attended Charlesmont Elementary, Stricker Middle, and Patapsco High School. While attending Patapsco High I took dance and studied Criminal Justice. Before joining the military I worked at the Middle River Target and waitressed at Buffalo Wild Wings.

Military Career:
Joining the Air Force was a huge step for me and my family. There has been only one other person in my family to serve in the military. I made the decision to join on my own thinking it would be a great experience and provide a way to help me get through college. I knew that I wanted to start my military career with the Security Forces Squadron and I can honestly say that it has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. Although I have not deployed, my squadron has taught me a lot and I have had some awesome experiences.

What brought to the MDANG? How have you enjoyed your time here?
While growing up I would drive by the base almost every day and think to myself what they could offer me. So, when I was old enough I contacted 2nd Lt. Prorock to talk about opportunities and what I needed to do to join the Guard. Working full time in the guard is different than coming in on a part time basis. With any job you have your good days and your bad days, but I can honestly say that on my bad days the group of guys I work with are there for me and tell me exactly what I need to hear to get me through the day.

Favorite Military Memory:
My favorite memory is graduating from boot camp. Running through family and friends while they cheered you on was a feeling of great accomplishment. It is a memory I will never forget. My mom, brother, two nephews, and best friend came to see me at graduation. Hugging my nephews and seeing them cry because they were so proud of me was the best feeling. My oldest nephew is a tough kid and to see him get emotional made me realize that this wasn't only for me but for my family as well.

What are your passions?
My greatest passion in life is working with kids. I currently coach cheerleading at Patapsco High School so I get to live my dream for a few hours every day. I am currently going to college and working toward my goal of becoming a high school English teacher. In the meantime I am going to try to continue inspiring children through coaching at Patapsco High School.