HomeNewsArticle Display

February Spotlight Airman

Senior Airman William Greene IV, assigned to the traffic management office,175th Logistic Readiness Squadron, unpacks new Air Force equipment at Warfield Air National Guard Base in Baltimore Dec. 4, 2015. Green, who processes inbound parcels for the entire base, was selected as the Spotlight Airman for the month of February in the Maryland Air National Guard.(U.S. Air National Guard photo by Tech. Sgt. David Speicher/RELEASED)

Senior Airman William Greene IV, assigned to the traffic management office,175th Logistic Readiness Squadron, unpacks new Air Force equipment at Warfield Air National Guard Base in Baltimore Dec. 4, 2015. Green, who processes inbound parcels for the entire base, was selected as the Spotlight Airman for the month of February in the Maryland Air National Guard.(U.S. Air National Guard photo by Tech. Sgt. David Speicher/RELEASED)

Senior Airman William Greene IV, assigned to the traffic management office, 175th Logistic Readiness Squadron, poses in the supply warehouse at Warfield Air National Guard Base in Baltimore Dec. 4, 2015. Green, who processes inbound parcels for the entire base, was selected as the Spotlight Airman for the month of February in the Maryland Air National Guard. (U.S. Air National Guard photo by Tech. Sgt. David Speicher/RELEASED)

Senior Airman William Greene IV, assigned to the traffic management office, 175th Logistic Readiness Squadron, poses in the supply warehouse at Warfield Air National Guard Base in Baltimore Dec. 4, 2015. Green, who processes inbound parcels for the entire base, was selected as the Spotlight Airman for the month of February in the Maryland Air National Guard. (U.S. Air National Guard photo by Tech. Sgt. David Speicher/RELEASED)

Cutline:  Senior Airman William Greene IV, assigned to the traffic management office, 175th Logistic Readiness Squadron, poses at his desk in the supply warehouse at Warfield Air National Guard Base in Baltimore Dec. 4, 2015. Green, who processes inbound parcels for the entire base, was selected as the Spotlight Airman for the month of February in the Maryland Air National Guard. (U.S. Air National Guard photo by Tech. Sgt. David Speicher/RELEASED)

Cutline: Senior Airman William Greene IV, assigned to the traffic management office, 175th Logistic Readiness Squadron, poses at his desk in the supply warehouse at Warfield Air National Guard Base in Baltimore Dec. 4, 2015. Green, who processes inbound parcels for the entire base, was selected as the Spotlight Airman for the month of February in the Maryland Air National Guard. (U.S. Air National Guard photo by Tech. Sgt. David Speicher/RELEASED)

Chief Master Sgt.David Liberto, right, and Senior Airman William Greene IV, both of whom are assingned to the 175th Logistic Readiness Squadron, unpack new Air Force equipment at Warfield Air National Guard Base in Baltimore Dec. 4, 2015. Green, who processes inbound parcels for the entire base, was selected as the Spotlight Airman for the month of February in the Maryland Air National Guard. (U.S. Air National Guard photo by Tech. Sgt. David Speicher/RELEASED)

Chief Master Sgt.David Liberto, right, and Senior Airman William Greene IV, both of whom are assingned to the 175th Logistic Readiness Squadron, unpack new Air Force equipment at Warfield Air National Guard Base in Baltimore Dec. 4, 2015. Green, who processes inbound parcels for the entire base, was selected as the Spotlight Airman for the month of February in the Maryland Air National Guard. (U.S. Air National Guard photo by Tech. Sgt. David Speicher/RELEASED)

BALTIMORE --
Name: William Greene IV
Rank: SrA
Unit: 175th LRS
Job Description: TMO Distribution Management
Fulltime job: inbound distribution
Hometown: Anchorage, Alaska
Joined the MDANG: January 2015
Total Service years: 3 years
Family: Just Me
Favorite Movie: Gridiron Gang
Last book read:
Favorite food: French Fries
Favorite Sports Team: Oakland Raiders!

Tell us your brief life story?

I was born in Anchorage, Alaska and raised in Upper Marlboro, Maryland.  Attended Frederick Douglass High School, and earned a Bachelor's of Science Degree in Sport Sciences from Delaware State University. Before joining the military I worked in the fitness industry as a consultant and personal trainer.

Tell us about your military career?

I would say my foundation for wanting to join the military is the influence of my father. He also served in the Air Force and constantly motivates me when it comes to my career and life in general. After completing college I pretty much knew that my next step would be in the military. My prior service was with the Army, which was only due to the fact of not having knowledge of the Air National Guard. Everything happens for reason though and I'm extremely glad to be here nonetheless.

What brought you to the MDANG?  How have you enjoyed your time here?

What brought me here was the desire to have a career that presented opportunity for professional growth and development. Once returning home from my deployment with the Army I knew I didn't want to continue to just be a traditional. I wanted more exposure to the military lifestyle and also wanted to gain more experience for the well-being of military career.

I've definitely enjoyed my time here thus far.  There is never a day that I can say I know what to expect, but I have a team behind me along with outstanding leadership that supports me and is always willing to help out.

What is your favorite Air Force or military memory or story?
What is your proudest moment?

My favorite memory in my military career dates back during my deployment to Serbia. I was assigned to go in the city and interact with the young kids there and teach them English. What really humbled me during my multiple times entering that city was that these kids really didn't have much. They barely had clothes, shoes, book bags, or school supplies, but each day that I saw these children come to school they had the biggest smiles on their faces and were always excited to simply be there. It made me really look at myself and get a firm understanding of life and what truly needs to be valued.

What are you passionate about?

If you could wake up, in the morning, and do anything--and get paid for it--with no restrictions, what would it be?  Are you working towards it or do you find time to do it? What are some of the things you enjoy to do on your spare time?

My first love is basketball and is closely followed by my second which is football. I probably would do basketball more than likely and get paid for it simply because of a less serious injury risk. I'm passionate about living a healthy and active lifestyle, getting out of shape is actually a fear of mine which is why a lot of people who know me call me a gym rat. I love to challenge myself and push it to the limit. I look at athletes like Kobe Bryant, and Charles Woodson and admire there athleticism at their age and want to be able to mimic that as much as possible when I get there. I'm a real laid back individual, in my spare time I enjoy listening to music, cooking, adding to my shoe collection when I can, and of course working out.