Maryland National Guard announces Airmen of the Year

  • Published
  • By 1 Lt. Wayde Minami
  • Public Affairs Officer
The Maryland Air National Guard today announced the winners of its annual Airman of the Year competition for 2007 as follows: 

In the Airman category: Senior Airman Kyle J. Greene, of Pylesville, Md. Greene is a member of the 135th Aerial Port Flight. 

In the Non-Commissioned Officer category: Tech. Sgt. Amy L. Franklin, of Bowie, Md. Franklin is a member of the 175th Medical Group. 

In the Senior Non-Commissioned Officer category: Chief Master Sgt. David L. Davies, of Baltimore. Davies is a member of the 175th Maintenance Squadron. 

"We are extremely fortunate to have such truly outstanding young men and women serving in the Maryland Air National Guard," said Maj. Gen. Bruce F. Tuxill, adjutant general of Maryland. "Day in and day out, these citizen-airmen are serving their nation at home and abroad and in our local communities. They truly are making a difference." 

This year's winners were chosen from amongst a field of 24 nominees from units throughout the Maryland Air National Guard. Nominees were recognized at a ceremony held Feb.10 at Warfield Air National Guard Base in Middle River, Md. 

In addition to the winners of the Airman of the Year competition, the Maryland Air National Guard also announced the selectees for First Sergeant of the Year and Honor Guard Member of the Year. Senior Master Sgt. Michele L. Vogel, of Baltimore, was selected as First Sergeant of the Year. Vogel is first sergeant for Headquarters, 175th Wing. Master Sgt. Steven C. Mooney, of Linthicum, Md., was selected as Honor Guard Member of the Year. Mooney is a member of the 135th Aerial Port Flight. 

More than 1,400 citizen-Soldiers and Airmen assigned to the Maryland National Guard are currently serving on active duty in the Global War on Terror. Since 9/11 nearly 7,400 Soldiers and Airmen have been called to support Operations Iraqi Freedom, Enduring Freedom, Noble Eagle, Jump Start and in the relief effort for Hurricanes Katrina and Rita.