2019 Airman of the Year Recognition Ceremony

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Enjoli Saunders
  • 175th Wing

Today, the wing held its annual Outstanding Airman of the Year Ceremony. The ceremony recognized exceptional Airmen as well as missions the wing has successfully completed throughout the year. Airmen competed against other members within specific categories including Airman, noncommissioned officer, senior noncommissioned officer, first sergeant, and company grade officers.

“The Airmen Recognition Ceremony is an opportunity for the wing to recognize and celebrate our outstanding Airmen,” said Col. Jori Robinson, 175th Wing vice commander. “Each year we present the best the wing has to offer. It is a time to acknowledge the hard work and dedication of Maryland’s finest, in front of their leadership, their peers and, most importantly, their families.” 

All nominees received a coin from the wing commander as recognition for their dedicated commitment to their career field and the MDANG.

“It is an honor and humbling to be recognized,” said Master Sgt. Wanda Rodriguez, a flight chief assigned to 175th Security Forces Squadron. “All the hard work that my team and I put in was acknowledged.”

The ceremony not only acknowledged the nominees but also celebrated 49 graduates of the Community College of the Air Force.

“Being recognized for earning my CCAF is extremely exciting,” said Senior Airman Latoya Turner, a fuels system distribution operator assigned to 175th Logistics Readiness Squadron. “I am the first person on my maternal side to obtain any sort of higher level educational degree. I truly feel accomplished and ready to obtain the next degree.”

Only one winner was chosen from each category. The winner in the Airman category was Senior Airman Taylor Aguayo, 175th Force Support Squadron commander’s support staff. The noncommissioned officer winner was Tech. Sgt. David Mills, a crew chief assigned to the 175th Maintenance Group and the senior noncommissioned officer winner was Master Sgt. Wanda Rodriguez, a flight chief assigned to 175th Security Forces Squadron. The ceremony winner in the first sergeant category was Master Sgt. Benjamin Fegley with the 175th Maintenance Squadron and the company grade officer winner was Capt. Jacqueline Brown assigned to the 235th Civil Engineer Flight.

Nominees will now have the privilege to wear the Maryland National Guard Soldier/Airman of the Year ribbon and will also submit their package for the National Airman of the Year contest.